Something I’ve been looking at fondly for a while is Sashiko. This form of Japanese embroidery is so simple and elegant. I’ve been wanting to try it out for a long time, but I’ve just never worked up the courage. Besides, all that embroidery by hand must be time consuming!

I’ve come up with an idea to make it slightly less arduous. Hopefully, by machine sewing the lines it will be a lot quicker. Admittedly, by doing this I’ll lose the beautiful gaps between each stitch, but at least I’ll have a semblance of sashiko embroidery.

So far I’ve made a little square with a pattern that I’ll sew.

This is the pattern I’m using. Simple overlapping circles.

To make the pattern I used something with a circular based (a bottle of ‘champagne bubbles’) and drew around it with a pencil. With some help from a ruler I was able to get all of the circles neatly lined up to make the pattern.

So far it’s been pretty easy. We’ll see how the next step goes…

